sloppy turkey joes

I had a small dinner party for some friends this weekend (a perk of being on summer vacation and being unemployed — lots of time to cook!!) and served a variation on my Great Great Aunt Thema’s sloppy joe recipe, which is the standard one in my family. To me, ground beef just tastes like grease, and I think ground turkey seasons and flavors much, much better.

I served these guys on slightly toasted whole wheat buns, with sweet potato fries, coleslaw (I’m not a fan of mayo, and I liked the substitution of half-and-half in this recipe. I halved it and just used a bag of coleslaw cabbage-and-carrot mix from the store.), and arroz con leche (I know, doesn’t match the theme, but I’ve been wanting to make it!).

chubb family sloppy joes, updated

1.25 lb. ground turkey (or 1.33 lb., whatever the store sells pre-packaged)
1/2 medium-sized red onion, diced
1 medium-sized green pepper, diced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/3 c. Heinz ketchup
2 T brown sugar
2 T white vinegar
8 oz. tomato sauce
1.5 t dry mustard
1.5 t chili powder
salt and pepper to taste

Brown the turkey in a pan with some olive oil, smooshing up all the chunks. Season with salt and pepper to your liking. When almost all the pink meat has turned brown, add the onions, green pepper, and garlic. Cook for another few minutes, then add the ketchup, brown sugar, vinegar, and tomato sauce. Stir well, then add the dry mustard and chili powder. Lower the heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, for about 45 minutes.

Serves 4; sizes up easily.

Leave a Reply

