Grandma Doris’ Sweet Potato Casserole

I’m reminiscing about Thanksgivings past, and I wanted to share with you two traditional Cavanaugh-family Thanksgiving casseroles: sweet potato casserole and corn casserole. To me, it just isn’t Thanksgiving without them.

I don’t know if this recipe goes back further than my grandma, but I do know either she or my mom made it for every Thanksgiving dinner and every family reunion during my childhood. I stay true to the oleo that it calls for, but I like bran flakes better that cornflakes for the topping, even though they’re healthier, because they’re sweeter and crunchier. This one is a real crowd pleaser, and I find it a bit, how do you say, classier than the traditional American sweet potato casserole with marshmallows.

Grandma Doris’ Sweet Potato Casserole

1 29 oz. can of sweet potatoes or yams, drained and mashed
1 cup white sugar
1 stick oleo, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs, slightly beaten

Beat ingredients together at low speed. Pour into a greased 9 x 13 casserole.

Topping:
2 1/2 cups crushed cornflakes (or bran flakes)
1 stick oleo, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup chopped pecans

Combine topping ingredients with a pastry blender. Sprinkle over sweet potato mix in the casserole.

Bake uncovered for 35 minutes at 350 degrees. Do not overbake.

3 responses to “Grandma Doris’ Sweet Potato Casserole

  1. Pingback: Corn Casserole, aka Corn Delight « there is no place we are / but maybe here.

  2. Pingback: giving thanks « there is no place we are / but maybe here.

  3. Oleo?! What is “Oleo,” other than the top secret to all your casserole deliciousness?

Leave a Reply

