gains and losses

The biggest things that happened today:

  1. My friends Jeff and Katina had their baby! Welcome to the world, Stella Jean Miner! I heard the stats of 6 pounds, 5 ounces and 18.5 inches, though I cannot confirm them. I can, however, confirm that she has the same birthday as my dad! Yay!
  2. My bike got stolen. I’m kind of surprised I have not encountered any bike-loss mishap previous to this during my 3+ years in San Francisco, so in a certain sense, I feel like I was due. But it still doesn’t take away that feeling you get in your gut when something important and valuable, that you have paid for and invested in, is physically taken from you.

I realize that these two things are not really on the same level — bringing a new life into the world is one of the most incredible and truly life-changing experiences there is, while losing a moderately valuable possession due to a poor choice about where to lock it up is not a huge deal — and I feel kind of strange drawing a parallel between my friends’ newborn child and my filched bicycle, but the reality is that these are the most important gains and losses in my world today. I guess I’m seeing it as proof that on some level, good always balances bad; loss in one area is canceled out by gain in another, and there’s always that ebb and flow that balances out our lives. It was funny, as I was riding over to the sandwich shop where my bike was stolen, I actually thought to myself, “I don’t want to be anywhere else other than where I am right now. I am happy, right now, where I am.” It’s been a while since I’ve thought that, and it’s going to take more than a petty thief to bring me down from it.

I’m super, super excited for Katina and Jeff. I know this is going to be a huge challenge for them, but I also know they can do it, that they will grow from and through it, and that their kid is going to be totally awesome. Stella will be the first baby I’ve known since birth, and Katina and Jeff are the first friends I’ll know before and after having a baby. Selfishly, I’m excited to watch them go through this process and be a part of it, supporting them and learning myself.

I’m mad about my bike, but not as mad as I thought I’d be. Realistically, I haven’t been riding as much lately, so the timing could have been worse. I don’t have the money to get a new bike right now, but I also don’t really need a new one right now. I’ve probably spent over $1,000 on the bike in the last few years, but I wasn’t incredibly emotionally attached to it. It just sucks to think that there are people out there who purposefully and consciously steal things that aren’t theirs. My bike was locked up (with a U-lock) to a post that was connected (via nails and 2-by-4s) to two other posts. That means whoever stole it had to rip off two 2-by-4s (presumably with his bare hands!) and then lift the U-lock (and attached bike) up about 7 or 8 feet in the air to slide it off of the pole it was connected to. This is not something a passerby does on a whim — this takes dedication and some expertise and some Hulk-like strength. It is also likely that my bike is being ridden around right now with the U-lock still attached!

Fortunately, I had the bike’s serial number in my files (it’s times like these when being super anal about keeping records comes in handy), so I filed a police report, registered it with the SBR, and posted a plea for help on Craigslist. Despite having heard some fantastic stories about happy reunions, I’m not optimistic about ever seeing it again. I do know, however, that I am looking forward to seeing lots of the minor Miner in the future — hopefully as soon as the family has had a chance to recover. So, you know, there really isn’t too much to complain about. Life is good.

One response to “gains and losses

  1. The Mother of Stella Spawn

    Oh man, I just started catching up on your blog. You are so sweet. We are thrilled that you’ll know Stella from practically day one and so happy to be your friend. Hope your T-Day goes well. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

